Podcasts, Blogging & Traffic

I am new to the whole podcast thing but I recently decided to poke around and found a few interesting marketing based episodes that I liked. The podcast that caught my ear is called Entrepreneur On Fire and more notably, their guest was Ana Hoffman of Traffic Generation Cafe.

Ana Hoffman

The podcast I was listening to was Episode 652: Ana Hoffman: The English Language Myth and there were a lot of great take aways!  I encourage you to listen to the podcast but in case podcasts are not your thing or you like the quick version here are the points I found particularly interesting.

Firstly, major props to Ana’s Success Quote: ‘I made a decision to write for my readers, not to try to find more readers for my writing.’ – Seth Godin

Seth Godin

Seth Godin – author, entrepreneur, public speaker and blogger.

If you have not read his books, blogs or listened to his talks, check out Seth Godin’s TED Talk – This is broken – it is hilarious and eye opening.

Back to the blog take aways:

  • Keep it simple and your formatting clean
  • Use images with clean visuals and fewer words – Try Slideshare
  • Get away from text posts
  • Skimming is the new reading
  • Simplicity is your friend
  • Get to the point
  • Proof read your content
  • Failure is not an option – Accept it and recognize it then do a makeover.
  • Ask people for advice and make changes

I didn’t 100% follow all the rules but I will learn eventually. I will post a Slideshare test run soon I think.

Hope you enjoyed!

Ciao

Leave a Reply

